PTB

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

PTB is the national metrology institute providing scientific and technical services in Braunschweig and Berlin and measures with the highest accuracy and reliability – metrology as the core competence.

PTB performs fundamental research and development work in the field of metrology as a basis for all the tasks entrusted to it in the areas concerning the determination of fundamental and natural constants, the realization, maintenance and dissemination of the legal units of the SI, safety engineering, services and metrology for the area regulated by law and for industry, as well as technology transfer. Only fundamental research work performed by PTB itself using latest technologies will enable it to ensure on a long-term basis its metrological competence recognized on the international level, and to extend it further.

As a result of its close cooperation with universities, other research institutes and industry, PTB has become a member of the community of all those pursuing research in Germany, and it makes use of these links for the benefit of all those involved. The comparison with the national metrology institutes of other countries ensures constant critical assessment at the highest level of metrology. Together with our partners in the projects implemented within the scope of international cooperation, PTB ensures the comparability and reliability of measurement results everywhere in the world on a long-term basis.

PTB

Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt

PTB ist das nationale Metrologie-Institut mit wissenschaftlich-technischen Dienstleistungsaufgaben in Braunschweig und Berlin und misst mit höchster Genauigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit – Metrologie als Kernkompetenz.

Die PTB betreibt Grundlagenforschung und Entwicklung im Bereich der Metrologie als Basis für alle ihre Aufgaben in den Bereichen Bestimmung von Fundamental- und Naturkonstanten, Darstellung, Bewahrung und Weitergabe der gesetzlichen Einheiten des SI, Sicherheitstechnik, Dienstleistung und Messtechnik für den gesetzlich geregelten Bereich und die Industrie sowie für den Technologie-Transfer. Nur die eigene Grundlagenforschung unter Anwendung neuester Technologien versetzt uns langfristig in die Lage, unsere weltweit anerkannte Kompetenz in der Metrologie zu sichern und auszubauen.

Durch Kooperationen mit Universitäten, anderen Forschungseinrichtungen und der Industrie sind wir in die deutsche Forschungslandschaft eingebunden und nutzen diese zum gegenseitigen Vorteil. Durch den internationalen Vergleich mit anderen nationalen Metrologie-Instituten stehen wir unter ständiger kritischer Begutachtung auf höchstem metrologischen Niveau. Mit unseren Projektpartnern in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit sichern wir langfristig die Vergleichbarkeit und Zuverlässigkeit von Messergebnissen überall auf der Welt.